A Nation of Laws : It was great while it lasted….

I lost hope tonight.  I used to believe that America was a land where laws mattered.  I used to believe that Justice was blind, and that her scales were fair.  If you broke the rules, you were duly punished, and if you lived by the rules, you may not be rewarded, but at least you were left alone.

I realized tonight that all across America, the Federal Government, and specifically the Obama Administration, has placed a huge thumb on those scales.  Much as they did when Obamacare became a problem and the President waived his magic pen to change dates certain written into the law, they have waived their pens again and saved tens of thousands of illegal immigrant “children” from odious paperwork by declaring them “homeless.”

If you are a citizen, YOUR child will have to provide proof of immunization, transcripts from another school, and reams of documentation to enter school this fall.  However, if you crossed our borders illegally, you are “homeless” now – and all of the procedures which citizens are compelled to follow you are released from.

I resent being told that because I have followed the rules in the past that I need to continue following them as those who have broken our laws from the get-go are now given “waivers.”  I resent that a man in the White House can wave his pen and make the laws no longer apply.  I resent paying taxes to a government that goes out of its way not to fulfill it’s basic duties to apply the law equally and with complete disregard for legal status, color, sex, or anything else you want to include.

And if I resent it, I can only imagine how people who made the arduous (but legal) journey through our present byzantine immigration system feel.

It’s almost as if Obama and the Democrats, desperate to hang their hats on something other than their complete lack of accomplishments, are pushing as hard as they can to foment unrest and lawlessness.  If they can get one Tea-Party Patriot to go over the edge, one group to declare “war” on the government, they will be able to hang the November election on it – painting all conservatives with the brush of “anarchists” and “haters.”

And I am afraid – truly afraid – that some nut job out there, or group of nut jobs, will take the bait.  Never mind that the Conservative “nuts” the Main Stream Media so slather over after every “mass shooting” or “violent incident” turn out to be hard-core leftists or completely apolitical.  They only need one bona-fide “conservatie” story before November.  My guess is they’ll be painting the cop in Ferguson who shot that young man as a “died in the wool Republican” if he is revealed to have voted 40 years ago for Nixon before joining the Democrat party and supporting every liberal agenda since.

If America does not make a hard choice, and move back to being a nation of laws and not men this November, it’s probably over.  The elite will get favors, and the rest of us will get the bill.  I used to say “I wanted a revolution until I got investments.”  I forgot how much I have invested in the very fabric of a country that enforces its laws….

Leave a Reply

